The path of history

An Exciting Rotary Journey

The Rotary Club of Curepipe was chartered on 7th October 1974 by a dynamic group of founder members and history notes tell us how committed they were and how diligently they accomplished their mission as Rotarians. The first President was J. Andre. Robert Snr.

From these early moments in 1974 to this day, the spirit of fellowship has been burning bright through our Club as we always advocate generosity and compassion for our needy and vulnerable fellow citizens.

Our Club continues to weave the legacy of its founder members with dedicated service to the community. Over these decades, fellowship amongst members and their families has grown to unbelievable levels. The Club has been involved in numerous activities for both international and domestic causes, raising important funds which are still benefiting individuals, families, communities and charitable organizations. Our rich history still guides our mission as members of the Rotary Club of Curepipe.

List of Charter Members

  1. Andre Robert Snr
  2. Jacques Vallet
  3. France Vallet
  4. Dr Fernand Espitalier-Noel
  5. Dr Georges Lincoln
  6. Dr Stephen. R. Keating
  7. Daniel Valadon
  8. Raymond Pougnet
  • 9. Mario Julienne
  • 10. Ismael Ahmad Limbada
  • 11. Hyacinth Mareel Catherine
  • 12. Jean Hardy
  • 13. Alain Mallac
  • 14. Daniel. E. Noel
  • 15. Cyril Leckning
  • 16. Jalah Shuja
  • 17. Henry Ythier
  • 18. Eugene Kalman
  • 19. Abdoul. H. Mottiar
  • 20. Addul Kader Karrimjee
  • 21. Michael Premet
  • 22. Jayputh Purmessur
  • 23. Maharaj. K. Zutshi
  • 24. Francis Piat
  • 25. Georges Martres
  • 26. Harold Glover
  • 27. Dr. A. Cader Raman