District 9220

District Governor Manoj Vaghjee

District History

District 9220 is a part of the former and extensive 220 district that included 12 countries, from Botswana to Ethiopia and including the Indian Ocean Islands.

The variety of peoples, landscapes, economic and political situations has long made District 220 a living example of international and friendly relations that Rotary intends to promote. District Conferences were a ‘must’ for Rotarians, as they were held in Arusha, Nairobi, Addis Ababa, Kampala and Antananarivo, and their program included working meetings and social, social and even social gatherings. gourmet.

The rapid increase in the number of clubs around the world has forced a renumbering of the districts, the 220 becoming the 920, then to new geographical distribution of the clubs. A first division left in Reunion a link with East Africa in the new district 9200, then, on July 1, 1996, a second division put us in the district 9220. (Arch RC St Denis-Reunion )

This district includes clubs from Comoros, Djibouti, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mayotte, Reunion and Seychelles. Six countries with a common language: French, these lands being or having been in the past, French possessions.

District Presidents